So it looks like all the anti-gunners have given up on going after the criminals who are actually breaking the laws with their guns, and instead they have found it easier to go after the law abiding gun owners.
A new Missouri law would actually make it illegal for a parent or Guardian to NOT tell school officials if they own guns.
A proposed state law in Missouri would make it a crime for parents or guardians not to tell school officials if they have guns in their home. Parents could also be prosecuted for gun crimes committed by their children under the same law even if the crimes were committed with a legal weapon.
If passed into law Missouri State Senate Bill 549 could slap parents with a $100 fine if they didn’t tell their children’s school about their gun. This is the second time State Senator Maria Chappelle-Nadal (D-Jefferson City) has introduced the legislation. The same law was introduced last year as Senate Bill 124 but it never got anywhere. She introduced the newest version in December.
“I am not trying to take away the gun rights of any parents or any other citizens. I believe in the Second Amendment,” Chappelle-Nadal told a St. Louis TV station when the bill previously was introduced. The senator said she was trying to stop school violence and crimes like carjacking.
Senate Bill 549 would be one of the toughest gun laws on the books and treats gun owners like felons. Here are some of the other restrictions it puts on parents:
- Make it a misdemeanor for parents failing to notify school officials if they have weapons in their home when children enroll in school. Parents would also have to notify the school if they bought a weapon.
- Parents found guilty of “negligent storage of weapons” could be fined $1,000 and charged with a misdemeanor. Specifically, the bill states that parents can be charged with a misdemeanor by “recklessly storing or leaving a weapon in a manner that is likely to result in the child accessing the weapon if the child obtains access to the weapon and unlawfully carries it to school, kills or injures another person with it, or commits a crime with it.”
- Parents whose child killed or injured a person with the gun could be charged with a Class D felony.
So if you can’t catch the criminals who are carrying out all the gun crimes, just go after the gun owners who you don’t believe should have guns in the first place. This seems to be the purpose of this law, and we will how Missouri lawmakers handle this one. You can read the bill here.
So what do you think? Is it any of the school’s business what guns you own or how many guns you own?
This ex-military insider’s shocking secret about the food crisis is revealed and most Americans are not ready Find out what you should be hoarding now in this Shocking Video Here! (ad)